Ivor Callely’s ‘Principal Private Residence’ Dilemma

Why Ivor Callely will be swotting the Revenue manuals on the Dublin-Cork train…

This morning, Senator Ivor Callely met with the  Seanad Eireann Committee on Members’ Interests, who are investigating his expense claims.

The Dubliner has been dogged by controversy, following recent reports that he claimed expenses of up to €80,000 for travel  from his Co. Cork holiday home to the capital.  The Committee held a rare public hearing today, to inquire into the matter.

Ivor Callely - Principal Private Residence - Dublin or Cork?Senator Callely claimed today that his house at Kilcrohane in West Cork was now his “Principal Private Residence”,  that he divides his time between Dublin and Cork, and that he is often seen in the vicinity of his Cork address.

Mr. Callely’s case has brought into sharp focus the often obscure concept of  “Principal Private Residence”, or PPR.  In the Irish tax code, this is the technical term  for one’s normal residence or home.

Whether or not a property is  a  ‘Principal Private Residence’ can make an enormous difference to one’s tax position.  For example, Capital Gains Tax is normally charged on gains arising from asset disposals.  However gains on disposal of a PPR are normally tax-free. The sale of a €1m property can generate huge Capital Gains Tax bills, but if it is the PPR of the seller, the tax will normally be zero.

Similarly, the inheritance of one’s family home is normally exempt from Capital Acquisitions Tax. On a more basic level, PPR’s are exempt from the annual NPPR levy on second homes.

In general I find that people take the concept of “Principal Private Residence” for granted, eg “my home is my home”.

Yet there are plenty of grey areas, and these can give rise to anomalies and complications:

  • If you are working in Dublin and return “home” to Kerry every weekend, is your PPR in Dublin (where you live for 4-5 days per week), or in Kerry where your family lives and where you keep the majority of your possessions?
  • If you own your own home in Galway and spend 12 months backpacking in Asia, is your PPR still in Galway, even though you sleep and base yourself in backpacker hostels on the other side of the globe?
  • If you are retired, live most of the year at your home in Ireland, and spend a few months each winter living in sunnier climes, where is your PPR during those winter months?
  • If a separated parent temporarily leaves the family home due to marital difficulties, their spouse and children continue to live there, and they contribute to the upkeep and maintenance of the family home, is this still their PPR, even though they are living elsewhere?

The Revenue Tax and Duty Manuals (published under Freedom of Information legislation) contain some very useful and extensive notes on the concept of PPR’s and how it applies in practice to Capital Gains Tax.  Although not exactly ideal bedtime reading, these notes are well-written and generally easy to read, considering their technical content.

As the Senator Callely “expenses” story unfolds, I expect that we will all learn a little bit more about PPR rules and how they apply in practice.

In the meantime, Ivor will be busily swotting the Revenue manuals. At least it will help him while away the endless hours on the Dublin-Cork train…

40 comments

  1. I am extremely imppressed with your writing skills as well
    as with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself?

    Anyway keep up the excellebt quality writing, it’s rare to see a nice blog like this one nowadays.

  2. Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Many thanks, However I am encountering issues with your RSS.

    I don’t understand why I cannot join it. Is there anyone else getting identical
    RSS issues? Anyone that knows the solution will you kindly respond?
    Thanks!!

  3. Pingback: bathmate x40
  4. Helօо to every one, since I am redally keenn off reaeing this
    webpage’s post tto be updated oon a гegupɑr baѕіs.

    It includes golod material.

  5. Wow that waas unusual. I just wrote an very long comment but after I clicked sibmit my comment didn’t show up.
    Grrrr… well I’m noot writing all that over again. Regardless, just wajted
    to say fantastic blog!

  6. We will provide accurate and cost effective websites.
    Theory always restricts you but being practical can help
    you to be more creative as well. There is enough space for innovative ideas in Blackberry application development.

  7. Hello there! Quick question that’s completely off topic. Do you
    know how to make your site mobile friendly? My blog looks weird when viewing from my iphone.
    I’m trying to find a template or plugin that might be able to resolve this problem.

    If you have any recommendations, please share. Appreciate it!

  8. Please let me know if you’re looking for a author for
    your weblog. You have some really good articles and I think I would be
    a good asset. If you ever want to take some of
    the load off, I’d love to write some articles for your blog
    in exchange for a link back to mine. Please blast me an e-mail if interested.
    Thanks!

  9. Batman star Joseph Gordon-Levitt will ‘absolutely’ appear in “Justice League”.
    What we haven’t really heard is how Michelle Williams, former girlfriend and mother of Matilda, is
    holding up. If you’ve a new citizen, you must apply for
    a new social security card by filing an application.

  10. Hi everyone, it’s my first pay a quick visit at this website,
    and piece of writing is in fact fruitful designed for me,
    keep up posting such articles.

  11. Amazing things here. I am very satisfied to look your post.

    Thanks a lot and I’m looking ahead to contact you. Will you
    kindly drop me a mail?

  12. Great blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would really
    make my blog shine. Please let me know where you got your design. Thanks

  13. Asking questions are actually fastidious thing if you are
    not understanding anything entirely, but this article offers fastidious understanding even.

  14. Just want to say your article is as astonishing. The clearness in your
    post is just excellent and i can assume you are an expert
    on this subject. Well with your permission let me to grab your feed
    to keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and
    please carry on the gratifying work.

  15. First of all I would like to say fantastic blog!
    I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I was curious to find out how you center yourself
    and clear your mind prior to writing. I have had trouble clearing my
    thoughts in getting my ideas out there. I do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15
    minutes tend to be lost just trying to figure out how to
    begin. Any ideas or hints? Cheers!

  16. I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your site.

    It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me to come here
    and visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to create your theme?
    Outstanding work!

  17. I enjoyed the story because it was the best story i have read and
    a amazing story i am also intrested in story of ghosts and i love any story of hunted house because ghosts are cool for me and they most of tthe time make a good enmding it was
    a very intresting story i hope i can find a story the
    samee story as it and maybe they mat have a diffrent storfy but the same story.

    that i hve read

  18. Por El Amor a Jesús Alguien q se apiade dde mi
    y me explique de Como descargo las peliculas Por favor graciazs es párr HACER Una Obbra dios los bendiga
    Si los islamistas no hicieron ESO, PORQUE nno desmienyen los Hechos,
    sino mas bien de han apoyado incondicionalmente un su lider Que acepto la
    Responsabilidad de los Hechos, es Conocida do Creencia De Que MIENTRAS masgente maten, tendran mas honores en Do Ottra Vida Ellos segun

  19. Hello! I’m a nikon fan.
    I would like to thank you for this great article. I really loved seeing it.

    I have already signed up for your RSS feeds and would like to ask if you have and email list?
    would enjoy seeing your news in my inbox!!
    Thanks again!!

  20. There are a great deal of veggies right here– Travis Lett’s vaguely
    Italian cooking has exactly what you may call a
    co-dependent connection with the farmers market.

  21. As a consumer, it seems prices only ever
    go up fast (and come down slowly), but I’m sure that there are good reasons for
    this (at least I hope there are). Motor oil testing using this spectral analysis
    will also show whether your engine has a fuel dilution problem.
    Ground water that is contaminated by only one quart of
    oil affects up to 250,000 gallons of drinking water.

  22. I’m not sure where you are getting ykur info, but great topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more.
    Thanks for great information I was looking for this information for my mission.

  23. Greate post. Keep posting such kind of info on your site.
    Im really impressed by it.
    Hey there, You’ve performed a fantastic job. I’ll certainly digg it and in my opinion recommend to my friends.
    I am sure they’ll be benefited from this site.

Comments are closed.